How To Remove Items and Disable Features from the Ctrl Alt Del Menu
When you are caught up with a Not Responding application what do you do? Or when your computer hangs what do you do? Most computer users, almost instantaneously, hit the Ctrl Alt Del combination without even thinking about what may have gone wrong.
The intention is to launch the Task Manager and select applications or processes to end forcefully. This isn’t always a good thing to do as you may end up killing some important processes.
Now, if you are sharing your computer, you will always be worried that other users may kill something precious. So, why not consider removing the choice (Task Manager Icon) completely from that menu? Other items in the menu can be removed as well and will see each one of them.
Bring up the Run dialog by hitting Windows + R and execute the command gpedit.msc to show the Local Group Policy Editor.
Navigate to User Configuration > Administrative Template > System > Ctrl Alt Del Options. Double click on it to see the options associated and available for modification.
Among five options in the Ctrl Alt Del menu, Lock this Computer, Switch User, Start Task Manager, Change Password and Logoff, four can be disabled or removed.
Open any item by double clicking on it and read the details before changing the settings. You should be sure of what you are doing before you proceed.
Remove Task Manager
If this setting is enabled, the choice will not be shown in the menu. Indeed, the user will not be able to launch the Task Manager by any other means. This also means that no user can kill a process without the administrator’s consent. And hence, stands a way to secure your shared computer.
Remove Lock Computer
If this setting is enabled no user can lock the computer. Quite useful if you are away while someone is using your computer, because there is always a chance of accidental lock which may force you to share your password.
Remove Change Password
If this setting is enabled, no user can demand to change the current password of the machine. Even if somebody had your password, they couldn’t change the system password. However, the system may demand a change from the user under occasions of password expiry and like.
If this setting is enabled, the user cannot logoff from the system by using the Ctrl Alt Del menu. However, other options to do so will remain open.
This is a pretty decent and clever way of adding one more level of security on a shared machine.
Via: Lost In Technology